Mystery... HELP!

Old 12-29-03, 10:04 PM
turboBB
Visiting Guest
Unhappy Mystery... HELP!

OK, this is a bit long so please bear with me.
I know I will definitely need to hire an electrician but just wanted to educate myself better before doing so. I am by no means an electrician so I apologize if I'm not describing things correctly or using the wrong terminology.

I live in a condo that's built on stilts (literally) in Edgewater, NJ. The unit is approx. 30 years old. Circuity is 220/240?

Problem:
I believe that one of the 120V lines (left side) coming in to the service panel from the main breaker (which is located outside of my condo) is dead. I've checked at the main breaker and there is electricity there so it seems the problem is somewhere along the lines between the main breaker and the service panel. I'm having a really difficult time trying to trace the darn wire as accessiblity beneath my unit is very limited since it is built on a hill and I can not get a ladder on any level ground.

Q1: Is there a tool that will allow you to trace this sort of issue? (I know there are tools that will allow you to track an outlet back to the service panel but the one I imagine that I would need would be capable of finding an open circuit from the main breaker into the service panel. Not sure if this exists or not.)

Q2: Interesting thing I discovered is that even after shutting off the main breaker, my meter is still turning slowly. Is this normal? (I thought that once you shut off the main breaker the meter would be dead as there is no current draw.)

Q3: I've called my local utility company (PSE&G) to investigate this but they said that anything after the main breaker is the owner's responsibility. Is this correct? (I've heard that in most states, the lines from the main breaker up to the service panel are the responsibility of the local utility company.)