Grounding receptacles

Old 01-14-04, 01:01 AM
dennist 1
Visiting Guest
Thumbs down Grounding receptacles

We had some elec work done here. the electrician was highly recommended by the inspector which is a neighbor of ours. well he came in re did most of the wiring in our basment, well he was putting up to code. Any way he replaced most of the of the old bx cable with the cloth insulation. he reinstalled conduit . looks great. he even went up in the attic and replaced some wiring up there. I was in the army when all this went on so I didnt watch him do this work, and im no pro but I have had my share in shocks and jolts. He didnt replace any of the wiring going up the wall feeding any of the receptacle boxes and or switches/fixtures. I noticed that the main box is grounded to my washer water line. Now I did test some of the old outlets and they are not properly grounded according to the analyzer. Some had a 3 prong receptacle on it but when I looked at them there was a ground wire attached to the ground screw and the other end was attached to the receptacle screw and those passed. I dont like that at all I put tape on those so no one plugs anything in. Was his grounding method correct? Also maybe I got loose connectors on my j boxes cause he did hook up some old stuff to the new J boxes . Would the ground carry through? Let me know , Im sure alot of ? might pop up for you guys so just tell me what you think .If I have to pull that old stuff out of the wall whats the best way of doing it?

Old 01-14-04, 06:16 AM
J
Received 513 Upvotes on 418 Posts
Are you saying the ground screw on the receptacle was jumped to the silver/neutral screw? That is definitely wrong and should be removed. If you can't install a proper ground a GFCI receptacle is an acceptable repair.

Old 01-14-04, 08:01 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts