#12 Wire!!!!!

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-20-04, 08:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
#12 Wire!!!!!

Wow... what is the trick to getting #12 wire in a box!

I am just installing a single 220V outlet in a standard surface box (2-1/2 x 4 x 2-1/8). Can't seem too do it... 2-wires + ground + device. Is there some trick to it? Don't leave as much service loop? I've wired my whole house but can't seem to work with #12 wire in a surface box, Very frustrating. The ground wire in particular seems difficult. Am I supposed to crush the hell out of it? Am worried that the side wires will come loose under the force.

The wire (it is accordianed) but it very unforgiven. Any ideas?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-20-04, 08:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Use a bigger box.
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-04, 05:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 994
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good advice. When I first started DIYing, I used to count the number of wires a box would contain and go by the Code for the size of boxes I'd need. Now I don't bother - I always buy the largest boxes I can find. The price differential isn't great and it makes things a lot easier.
 
  #4  
Old 01-21-04, 10:18 AM
txdiyguy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 249
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree with going with the larger boxes except on exterior walls. I arrange my layout to minimize the number of wires run to boxes on exterior walls. And I do not run anything horizontal in an exterior wall if at all possible.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: