GFCI outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-21-04, 01:09 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFCI outlets

Am wiring a bathroom with 4 outlets. Do all the outlets need to be GFCI or just the first one in the circuit. 2 of the outlets are right above 2 sinks.Should these be GFCI also?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-21-04, 01:19 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can use one GFCI outlet and the rest can be normal outlets, as long as the other outlets are wired from the load side of the GFCI outlet.

4 outlets? This must be a big bathroom!
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-04, 06:56 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Don't forget to follow the 36" rule.
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-04, 03:47 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
36" rule?

Thanks all but what is the 36" rule?
 
  #5  
Old 01-22-04, 06:50 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry. That was a bit of a test.

The rule to which I am referring is the one that requires a receptacle within 36" of the rim of a bathroom sink. If you didn't already know that, then please stop your work now and read a couple of good books on home wiring. Bathrooms and kitchens are very electrically regulated rooms (and rightly so). You can't just start wiring there without a lot of study.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: