GFCI outlets


  #1  
Old 01-21-04, 01:09 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFCI outlets

Am wiring a bathroom with 4 outlets. Do all the outlets need to be GFCI or just the first one in the circuit. 2 of the outlets are right above 2 sinks.Should these be GFCI also?
 
  #2  
Old 01-21-04, 01:19 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can use one GFCI outlet and the rest can be normal outlets, as long as the other outlets are wired from the load side of the GFCI outlet.

4 outlets? This must be a big bathroom!
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-04, 06:56 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Don't forget to follow the 36" rule.
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-04, 03:47 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
36" rule?

Thanks all but what is the 36" rule?
 
  #5  
Old 01-22-04, 06:50 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry. That was a bit of a test.

The rule to which I am referring is the one that requires a receptacle within 36" of the rim of a bathroom sink. If you didn't already know that, then please stop your work now and read a couple of good books on home wiring. Bathrooms and kitchens are very electrically regulated rooms (and rightly so). You can't just start wiring there without a lot of study.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: