220v 30amp wiring and plug


  #1  
Old 01-22-04, 11:30 PM
Craig&Carly
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb 220v 30amp wiring and plug

Hi everyone,

I own a standard 220v/30a electric dryer and a miele 220v/15a washer. I only have one 220v/30a outlet and I use a small converter box that I purchased with the washer. For the past year I've been swapping the dryer and washer cords when needed. My wife wants a better solution. Of course.

Can I gang a second 220v/30a 4wire plug together with the existing 4 wire circuit on one breaker?

Thanks for your help.
 
  #2  
Old 01-23-04, 05:21 AM
TomZ1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 155
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I wouldn't. Seems to me the combined load of both appliances running together would overload the circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 01-23-04, 10:23 AM
unique3's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada
Posts: 188
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New circuit?

That doesn't sould like a good idea, as the previous post mentioned it will most likely overload the circuit.
If at all possible run a new wire back to the panel and make a complete new circuit.
Either that or keep using the switching box that you have.
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-04, 12:19 PM
Craig&Carly
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb How about a 30 amp toggle switch.

I haven't been able to find anything like this. But the idea is to ensure that I don't use both plugs at the same time. Why am I asking? My breaker box is full and the run of conduit and cable is far. Trying to keep costs down. Contractors in Cali are expensive, along with everything else.

Thanks for your comments. Very much appreciated.

C&C
 
  #5  
Old 01-23-04, 03:22 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 1,983
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Connect a 30-amp double-pole double-throw non-fuseable saftey-switch. Check the Square D On-Line Catalog.

Good Luck & Enjoy the Experience!!!!!!!!
 
  #6  
Old 01-23-04, 05:20 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,262
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do you have an existing 120v receptacle for another washer? If you do and it is a dedicated circuit you can convert the 120v receptacle to 220v.

Even in Cali an electrician could only be a fraction of the cost of that Miele washer! Nice stuff!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: