Duct tape


  #1  
Old 01-26-04, 05:04 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Duct tape

I replace a wall light and when I pulled out the wiring it had old electric tape on it. There were no bare wires, but the tape looked raggedy so I wrapped some new tape over it. I used black duct tape. Do I need to go back in and tear that duct tape out and replace with elect tape? Could I just put some more elect tape over it? Or is it ok that way?
TIA Steve
 
  #2  
Old 01-26-04, 05:28 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,029
Received 513 Upvotes on 418 Posts
You need an electrical box installed.
You need to replace the tape(all of it) with proper wire nuts.
 
  #3  
Old 01-26-04, 05:43 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Electrical tape, or any other kind of tape, is not a proper way to connect wires. As Joe says, you must use wire nuts. Some people use tape over the wire nuts, but the connection should be made in a manner that this is completely unnecessary. If you are concerned that your wire nut connection is not secure, then make it again with a new wire nut -- don't tape over it.

Most books on home wiring show the proper way to make a wire nut connection.
 
  #4  
Old 01-26-04, 08:16 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
got it

Can do thx.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: