Help with wiring a ceiling fan

Old 02-15-04, 07:40 AM
KevinD
Visiting Guest
Help with wiring a ceiling fan

Hello, I am trying to wiring a ceiling fan and I am having a few problems.

1. I ran the wiring from the fan to a light switch which controls an outlet. There is one cable going from the light switch to the outlet.

2. The outlet is wired with the black from the light switch connected to the outlet, while the white from the switch is connected to two other black wires, that I assume is going to another oulet.

3. The outlet basically has two black wires connected on one side of the outlet, and one white wire connected on the other side. With two black wires and one white connected together with a plastic wire cap.

4. So, when I try to connect the ceiling fan wires to the light switch, white to white, and black to black, it does not work.

5. I would like to use the light switch to control the fans power, so it can be turned on and off from the switch.

I am not very good at house wiring, and any help in walking me through this would be greatly appreciated.

Old 02-15-04, 08:23 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
what you have is called a switch loop at the switch. This means the feed is coming up on the white and going back down on the black. There is no neutral present at your switch box.

You cannot use the setup the way it is. The only way to make it work is to sacrifice the switched receptacles. To do this you just connect all the wires in the receptacle color for color. White to white, black to black, ground to ground. This will make the receptacles hot all the time and bring a feed up to the switch box and all will work as intended.

If you need the receptacles to still be switched you have to run more wiring and I would leave that to a proessional.

First thing I would do is to get a good book on home wiring. This would have explained your situation well before hand.

Old 02-15-04, 08:58 AM
J