Wiring a pony box


  #1  
Old 03-02-04, 12:23 PM
axelrose
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Wiring a pony box

I have a 100 amp service breaker box and want to add breakers to it but there are no extra slots for breakers. I've heard and read about a pony box which is almost like adding another breaker box to the original breaker box. The problem is I'm not sure how to wire the new box to the old box and I'm not sure how many breakers I can add to the new box. I've installed an oabove ground pool and the pump is where I really need the extra power. Theres also a light in the pool. I'd like to add a outlet on my deck and one in my portable garage. Thanks for any suggestions or anything that will help me.
 
  #2  
Old 03-02-04, 12:53 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Have you exhausted the possibilities of using your existing breaker box?

How many physical breakers are in the box now (not counting the main)? Can the box support tandem breakers?

Unless you see your needs increasing, and if your panel can support tandem breakers, you should consider this possibility before going the sub-panel route.
 
  #3  
Old 03-03-04, 06:34 AM
axelrose
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
reply for racraft

there is 24 breakers in total some are doubled and if I knew what a tandom breaker was that might help me. I'm assuming you don't think it a good idea to add another breaker box, reasons being? Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 03-03-04, 06:49 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
A tendem breaker occupies one space but has two actual breakers. They are sometimes called mini breakers, or minis.

Tandem breakers make it possible to increase the number of circuits without adding a subpanel or replacing the existing panel. They save significantly on cost.

If your panel supports tandem breakers and if you have not maxed out the number of tandem breakers then I recommend them, at least for a small number of new circuits.

If however, your panel does not allow tendem breakers or you have reached the maximum number of breakers in the panel then you need a subpanel or tyou need to replace your panel with a larger one.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: