power from street


  #1  
Old 03-04-04, 03:30 PM
brian64
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
power from street

hi there
just bought a new log cabin home ,,i'm haveing a 200 amp service installed.. my electriction says that i need to put a [ mast] on the side of my house,for the cable from the street, and he told me that it will cost me $1400..and $900 without it...Can someone please tell me what a [mast ] is and for and if that price is a good one
 
  #2  
Old 03-04-04, 04:44 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I cannot tell you if the price is good or not.

A mast is used to allow the incoming electric service to be raised up higher than the roof would normally allow. The cable cannot be too low, or it would present a hazard for anybody or anything moving underneath.
 
  #3  
Old 03-05-04, 07:30 AM
IMB4U
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
900 to 1400 $. WOW Thats alot of money.
Quite simply put; a mast is a length of pipe that attaches to a meter base (A box holding your hydro meter) approximate length of 10 to 15 feet, galvanized, 2" minimum for 200 Amp, TW 75 wire.
Mast themselves generally run anywhere from $75 to $150.
Your electrician must have ment that the hole service would cost 900 to 1500$, which is more reasonable.
Mast heights depend on your electrical code...ie wires passing over streets, sidewalks, or just land...all have different height requirements.
Hope this helps.
 
  #4  
Old 03-05-04, 02:05 PM
brian64
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
i wish that the whole thing just cost me $900 to $1500...he gave me a price of $3,450 to wire the whole house. and a 200 amp service and $1400 for the mast installed .. I'm looking at his proposal as i type..This is a 1 b-room log cabin...
 
  #5  
Old 03-05-04, 05:11 PM
IMB4U
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs down

Does the quote for the mast installed include the cable required. If so, how far is it from the mast to the hydro line. If not, then I'd say your getting hosed, .
Find out exactly what the quote in question details.
$1400.00 would be reasonable for an under ground service installation, not an above ground installation.
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-04, 03:45 AM
brian64
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally posted by IMB4U
Does the quote for the mast installed include the cable required. If so, how far is it from the mast to the hydro line. I
no he said it is just for the mast.... no cable,, just the pole...i;m 75 feet from the nearest pole
 
  #7  
Old 03-06-04, 07:39 AM
IMB4U
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Brian..I suggest very strongly that you call another licensed electrician to get another quote. I hope this helps you.
 
  #8  
Old 03-06-04, 10:04 AM
u2slow
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Also consider just having the panel and service installed, and wire the house yourself.

How was the electrician was planning to do the install without a mast? I've seen pole-mounted meters, and then a buried cable to the house, but usually thats for smaller services. If you can do a 200A service this way, it may well be cheaper (providing you dig the trench )

Where is your cabin? Your price may be high on account of the travel time to a remote location.
 
  #9  
Old 03-07-04, 04:08 AM
brian64
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
wow thanks all for the great help so far...
next question...does it matter how deep the trench has to be, if i decide to Barrie the cable?? ,and do i have to put it into say schedule 40 or 80 ,,can i just lay the cable in the ground?? and then buried it?? My house is located in southern Maine, in the woods...yes i want a 200 amp service
 

Last edited by brian64; 03-07-04 at 04:29 AM.
  #10  
Old 03-07-04, 09:24 AM
u2slow
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Many areas allow homeowners to take out their own permits and do their own work.

You would have to check with your local power company and inspection branch to see if that is permitted. If so, they will likely have a homeowner's guide for common improvements. (My inspection branch does.)

My PoCo has a document like this for services:
http://www.bchydro.com/rx_files/serv...rvices2048.pdf

A cable such as ACWU or Teck 90 can be directly buried. (I doubt NMWU comes large enough for 200A). Exact burial depths, conditions of use, and conductor sizing will be in the code book or available at the inspection branch.

You may be able to use schedule 40/80 PVC conduit as well. This route may prove more costly, but has the benefit of being able to more easily replace/resize the cable later on if necessary.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: