Breaker size for lighting circuit


  #1  
Old 03-07-04, 09:25 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle
Posts: 179
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Breaker size for lighting circuit

Just finished wiring a new circuit for a group of recessed can lights (Halo brand from HD). I used #12-2 cable for the circuit and was planning to connect the circuit to an available 20 amp breaker.

However....
I noticed that the wire within the fixtures is stranded #14 or #16.
Does this mean that I must use a 15 amp breaker?

On a related note, the wire in the fixtures appears to be aluminum (it certainly isn't copper!) and given the concerns over using aluminum wire I wonder why it is used in most of the lighting fixtures I looked at in HD.

THanks,
DavidJ
 
  #2  
Old 03-07-04, 09:38 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
A 20-amp breaker is fine.

The wire in the fixtures is not aluminum. It's tinned copper. Scrape a bit of the wire with a pocket knife and you'll see the copper color.
 
  #3  
Old 03-07-04, 09:40 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle
Posts: 179
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks John,
Do you know what the benefit is of tining the coper wire?

DavidJ
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: