Electrical Outlet inside a cabinet


  #1  
Old 03-12-04, 06:25 AM
rratcliffe
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Electrical Outlet inside a cabinet

I am creating an office for my wife. One of the cabinets covers an outlet. Is it within code to cut a hole in the cabinet (large enough that the circuit could be worked on) and extend the outlet to inside the cabinet? If yes what do you use to extend the outlet box?
Thanks
Dick
 
  #2  
Old 03-12-04, 06:33 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Yes. Use a box extender, available at many home centers. The extender must make the box flush with the cabinet surface, because the box may not be recessed at all when mounted in a flamable material such as a cabinet.
 
  #3  
Old 03-12-04, 06:59 AM
rratcliffe
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Electrical Outlet inside a cabinet

Thanks John,

It needs to be extended about 3/8's of an inch. Can that be done with wood? Like build a short box around it or do I need to get the plastic extender and do they have one that is that deep?

Thanks for your help
Dick
 
  #4  
Old 03-12-04, 07:28 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
No, it may not be done with wood or any other flamable material. Get the device made especially for this purpose: a box extender. They come in a variety of sizes.
 
  #5  
Old 03-12-04, 08:06 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 1,983
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Use a Wire-Mold extension box. You set the "back-plate" of the X-B on the existing outlet-box, then fasten the X-B to the back-plate. If you need more depth,you can fasten a "Standard" Wire-Mold outlet box to the back-plate.

Because the W-M outlet-box resembles a rectangular "block", you can achieve at neat fit between the outlet-box and the cabinet if you measure/cut carefully for a "finished" appearance.--- And there's alway Spackle----

"A lot of Spackle, a lot of paint;
makes a cerpenter--------"

Good Luck & Enjoy the Experience!!!!!
 
  #6  
Old 03-12-04, 11:12 AM
rratcliffe
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Extender purchase 3/4 inch metal adjustable (slides in the box) and I am done with that problem.
Thank you
 
  #7  
Old 03-12-04, 04:21 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,052
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
3/8' is small. I would just cut a hole in the cabinet and leave the receptacle where it is.
 
  #8  
Old 04-09-04, 08:10 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 374
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wow - I just found this thread, I'm planning on doing the same thing, only with a medicine cabinet (the outlet will be just downstream of a GFI receptacle). However I'm a little dense here, I think you've answered my question but I'd like to make sure.

Prior to reading this, I went to a local HD and bought a Wiremold box. I don't have it in hand now (I'm at work) but I'd guess it's about 3/4" thick. The medicine cabinet is completely framed by 2x4s, what I was hoping to do is to drill a 3/4" hole through the side stud, through the cabinet and then do the wiring and store it between the box the medicine cabinet (I think there is a backplate to the Wiremold).

From what I read here, that wouldn't be code because of the wood, right? Am I to assume that I have to have a traditional box for the wiring? If that is the case, then I'd have to cut out a box hole in the stud and the side of the medicine cabinet (or I could remove the stud at that 'entry' point and build a support around this).

Anyhow, that is what I'm assuming, no drilled holes, gotta have a box.

I love this forum, always learning (but not always remembering).

Bob
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: