remolding basement old 2 wire no ground

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-20-04, 10:21 AM
skaul111
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb remolding basement old 2 wire no ground

I have to remove old pull switch light in basement and when I disconnect light the ceiling fan on first floor the cieling fan with lights does not work. How do I solve this problem with out re wiring the whole house. I am in the process of grounding old wiring that has metal boxes by hooking up a ground wire to the box and then to a water pipe please help me.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-20-04, 10:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
We need to know why you have to remove this light.

Grounding to a nearby water pipe is about as severe a code violation as they come, and is incredibly hazardous.
 
  #3  
Old 03-20-04, 11:02 AM
skaul111
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I am not useing old wiring for basement any more and will be installing a wood ceiling in that area
 
  #4  
Old 03-20-04, 11:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Now please describe the wiring at the box where the light was. Is there two black wires, two white wires, and two bare wires? And what did you do with them with you took down the light.
 
  #5  
Old 03-20-04, 11:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do not ground anything to the metal water pipes. This is extremely dangerous, you could kill someone. Please disconnect those connections ASAP.

As far as your basement light is concerned. Removing the light is one thing. However, you cannot simply cover the box with a wood ceiling, a drywall seiling, or anything permanent. If the box has wires that remain in it (and it sounds like it does), the box must be accessible. This means either putting a blank cover over it, or installing a drop ceiling.

Per John's question, tell us the wires that remain in the box, and what you did with them.
 
  #6  
Old 03-20-04, 11:48 AM
skaul111
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
there is at least 3 black wires tied together and 3 white wires tied together with short leads going to a to a pull switch and when I disconnect the pull switch light the ceiling fan on first floor doeds not work I am wondering if they are useing the white wire for something other then nuteral? some one said I may have to take cieling fan down and check white wire. for what I do not understand. My intentionwas to put a cover plate over box in the ceiling down stairs.
 
  #7  
Old 03-20-04, 05:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Simply connecting all the black wires to each other with a wire nut, and all the white wires to each other with a wire nut, will work fine. If it does not, then double-check your connections because one of them isn't well done.

Please tell us that you've given up on your grounding plan. It's a really, really bad idea.

And make sure that the junction box where the light formerly was remains permanently accessible, even after your new ceiling.
 
  #8  
Old 03-22-04, 11:07 AM
skaul111
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
John sorry could not get back till now
I have not hooked any thing to water lines for grounding but I am cofussed because a electrition is the one who has told me to hook up the groung wire to box then install new outlets with ground to them. Now has far as the box in the ceiling it will be accesssable after wood ceiling
My main pronlem is diconnecting pull switch light and haveing ceiling fan still work I will try taking short pigtail out and rety wirenuts to see if there is a bad connection like you have stated thanks agian
 
  #9  
Old 03-22-04, 12:59 PM
skaul111
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Talking

john thanks agian I checked for lose connection and I can remove the pull chain light now because one wire was lose.
I still am wondering about grounding old 2 wire which has cloth covering with no ground
I am planning to remove some of the wiring because over 80 percent of house is on one 15amp circute breaker and I have one circute breaker that goes to garage for a wellder so I will be able to get 2 new breakers one 15 amp for old ceiling lights and one 20amp for old outlets does this sound ok to you? some one has said you can use 15 amp with number 12 wires is that right? My understanding is 15amp for 14 gage and 20amp for 12 gage wire? sorry about mis spelled words but I can not find spell check on this forum.
 
  #10  
Old 03-22-04, 01:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If an electrician ever told me to grab a bootleg ground from a water pipe I would politely escort him to the door and report him to his union and to the AHJ.

Are you certain he told you to grab grounds from the water pipes?

As for your circuit breakers. Do not install a 20 amp breaker unless the wiring is 12 gauge. If the wiring on the circuit (any part of the circuit) is 14 gauge, then you must use a 15 amp breaker.
 
  #11  
Old 03-22-04, 02:08 PM
skaul111
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks agian for varifing 12 gage and 14 gage wiing and yes he did say I can ground to a water pipe but I will not. ok.
Can I ground the old boxes to the main breaker box with 14 gage green plastic covered wire? I will just have to use more wire I guess? my intension is to get wiring closer to 2000 wiring code for newer tv's, and computers so i do not have to use converters from outlets with no ground plugs. Or do you have a easier wy to ground old outlets?
 
  #12  
Old 03-22-04, 08:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There are two ways to get a ground to an ungrounded outlet. One way is to run a separate green wire of the same gauge as the circuit wire back to the panel. The other way is to replace the cable with a new cable that contains a ground wire.

There are other ways to go which will allow you to use three prong outlets without an adapter, but these methods do not supply any ground on that third prong.

Computers, surge supressors, and UPS's need a good equipment ground, so I recommend running either new cable or running the extra ground wire.
 
  #13  
Old 03-22-04, 08:31 PM
skaul111
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
looks like we are thinking on the same course I really apprieciate this back up you are giving me and if there is any info I can give you about building or inspecting a home please let me know I have over 30 years in the construction trade as a carpenter and after a shoulder injury I have taken up AutoCaDD drafting so if you need something drawn up feel free to ask my address is [email protected]
I enjoy talking to some that makes sence about the work to be done Like I was taught the cheap and easier way is not always the best. Thanks again Steve
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: