Adding new circuit to office

Old 03-28-04, 10:06 PM
steveB
Visiting Guest
Adding new circuit to office

Hello all.
I am a former tinbender, so I have some knowledge, and understanding of doing quite a bit. I am not however an electrician, and cannot afford to hire one. And things aren't what they use to be. Back when, we could hire a sparky for a few 6packs, or a couple of cases of beer. No more. Now everyone wants money, and lots of it.
I have an office to the side of my garage. I have been having more and more electrical cut outs due to an overloaded circuit.
I've finally figured out what I want to do to solve this.
I have a full computer setup with scanners, printers, etc... As such, I need what I'm told is a 10 gang box.
After giving it more thought, I'd like to do two or three of these to handle future electronic needs.
I'd also like to do the same for my entertainment center.
In tonite's news, a local lost her entire house due to an overloaded power strip. It turns out that she had 8 devices plugged into this strip.
As you can imagine, it has added a bit of concern to my quandry.
As to vernacular, I know it, so just talk to me.
If anyone would explain how I can do an entire circuit from design, to install, I'd be willing to trade knowledge for an HVAC system, or how to do a metal roof, ornamental works, etc....
A direct email to me would be preferable, as I'm rather busy, and might not make it back for a while.
Thanks.
SteveB.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-28-04, 10:16 PM
hotarc
Visiting Guest
A 10 gang box? Boy that would be fun to wire! The largest I have seen are 4 gangs, maybe 5, but even those are getting a little ridiculous in terms of wiring.

I think what you need is several 2-gang boxes each with 2 duplex receptacles mounted within. Run a circuit powering only the computer and peripherals and another circuit, or two, for your entertainment center.