Installed a digital thermostat... or so I thought...

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-30-04, 12:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installed a digital thermostat... or so I thought...

Hi all.

I recently bought a digital thermostat to replace our old terrible one. I disconnected four wires, red, blue, green, and white and attached them to the same spots as labeled on the new thermostat.

The new thermostat, has a RC, and RH labeling. I'm imagining that it's Red Cold and Red Hot... either way it's a moot point. There is also a connecting wire that came with the unit, that connects RH and RC together.

The problem is that my heat doesn't work. Air conditioning seems to be fine because the blower is on, but the heat... nada. I am not sure where to hook up the red wire, whether I should use the connecting wire, etc...

Any help is appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-30-04, 01:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What do the directions that came with the thermostat and with the furnace indicate?

I would start there.
 
  #3  
Old 03-30-04, 01:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's assuming I still have the directions for the furnace..

The thermostat said to hook it up to RH, and use the jumper wire to hook into RC... but no luck so far
 
  #4  
Old 03-30-04, 01:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Make and model and type of furnace?
Make and model of air conditioner?
Make and model of thermostat?
 
  #5  
Old 03-30-04, 01:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally posted by John Nelson
Make and model and type of furnace?
Make and model of air conditioner?
Make and model of thermostat?
I'll let you know when I get home... ETA 2 hours
 
  #6  
Old 03-30-04, 02:20 PM
noxx
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Using the "standard" thermostat color coding, one assumes that your wiring is as follows.

red +v
White - heat
Blue - cool
Green - fan


On an older four wire system it's likely that the standard colors are used and haven't been molested too many times. Often when replacing a standard stat with a digital, you will encounter problems because there is no ground, and the digital will only operate on batteries.

When you get home, pop open your furnace and inspect the wiring coming back from the stat. The green and white wires should land at terminals at the furnace, and the blue wire may either terminate or be spliced directly to the 2-wire cable going to your compressor.

Without seeing it myself there are so many variables it difficult to pin down the problem, it may be that the fan is not interlocking properly because your wiring/ xmfr size doesn't suppoort your new stat, it could be a misplaced terminal, could be a half dozen things.

Let us know a little more in detail and we'll get you all worked out.
 
  #7  
Old 03-30-04, 02:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I take a picture and post it, will that help at all? I can take pictures of both the furnace and thermostat (and its connections).

I'll do that as soon as I get home.
 
  #8  
Old 03-30-04, 03:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wahoo! I fixed it! I swapped the blue wire onto the C (for Cyan... *sigh*) post and the heat kicked right on.

Thanks for the help folks!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: