Baseboard heater not working?


  #1  
Old 04-01-04, 10:10 AM
c5fe
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Baseboard heater not working?

Well I have a slight dilema. I am installing a marley baseboard heater with a thermostat mounted to it. its a 220v heater and we have the proper double pole 15a breaker. I've checked the power to the thermostat. good. continuity checked the thermostat and it is working properly. continuity checked the safety cutoff switch internally on the heater and it is closed. I did an ohm check on the heater element and I'm getting 39 ohms. Just wondering if you see anything I missed on checking and any ideas why Its not working
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 04-01-04, 10:23 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do you get thr proper 220 volts when measuring across the incoming hot wires, and 110 volts when measuring each leg to ground?
 
  #3  
Old 04-01-04, 10:27 AM
c5fe
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I get 120 on each leg but I get no volts reading across them....bad breaker?
 
  #4  
Old 04-01-04, 10:29 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I suspect that you don't have a 220 breaker. Does the breaker occupy two slots in your panel, and is it twice the size of the other breakers?
 
  #5  
Old 04-01-04, 10:31 AM
c5fe
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
yes it does occupy 2 positions
 
  #6  
Old 04-01-04, 10:33 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What do you mean by two positions. I am still thinking you do not have a 220 breaker.

You aren't trying to use a tandem or mini breaker are you?
 
  #7  
Old 04-01-04, 10:36 AM
c5fe
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
you asked a simple question so I guess the simple answer wasn't right. Yes it is twice the size of other breakers and occupies two slots
 
  #8  
Old 04-01-04, 10:38 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do you have the two circuit wires connected appropriately to both connections on the breaker?

What happens when you measure directly across the two terminals on the breaker? What voltage do you get?
 
  #9  
Old 04-01-04, 10:59 AM
c5fe
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
took a look at the breaker and it reads the same at the breaker as previously mentioned. 120 each leg....0 together.
 
  #10  
Old 04-01-04, 11:01 AM
c5fe
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
breaker part number is thqp215...ge
 
  #11  
Old 04-01-04, 11:04 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If you get 0 volts leg to leg then somehow both terminals are on the same leg of the incoming 220 volts.

Do you have other 220 volts breaqkers in this panel?

Also, disconnect one of the hot leads somewhere and repeat the voltage tests at the panel, measuring each leg to ground and from one leg to the other.

Also make sure that the breaker is not tripped on one leg but not the other. Try turning it completely off and then back on.
 
  #12  
Old 04-01-04, 11:12 AM
c5fe
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks racraft for your help... it was on the same leg and now it works. Really appreciate the guidance.
 
  #13  
Old 04-01-04, 11:27 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Looking on the Internet, it looks like your breaker is a tandem 110 breaker, and not a 220 breaker. Yes, it has two poles, but it connects to only one leg of the breaker panel.

I think you need a full size (2 inch) 220 breaker to connect to both legs of the incoming service.

Is this, perhaps, what you discovered?
 
  #14  
Old 04-01-04, 02:44 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Asking if this breaker is twice the size of the other breakers apparently was the wrong question. We should have asked him to take a ruler out there and measure it for us.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: