Switching 12 volt accessories to 110


  #1  
Old 04-03-04, 06:30 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Switching 12 volt accessories to 110

I am trying to figure out if there is a way to take a 12 volt accessory such as a car radio and be able to plug it in to a standard 110 plug in the house. I don't know much about this, but i've seen a guy at the chevy dealership do it, so i know its possible somehow. Its just a crazy idea. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot and God bless.
 
  #2  
Old 04-03-04, 07:09 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 952
Received 14 Upvotes on 10 Posts
You need to get a 120VAC to 12VDC power adaptor. Be sure it has the proper capacity to run your equipment.
 
  #3  
Old 04-04-04, 09:11 AM
jughead's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Posts: 545
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
All you need is a 12 volt DC power supply. It plugs into the 110v outlet and the supplies 12 volts DC to whatever you wish to power. I used to use one all the time on the test bench to power 12 volt DC stuff while I was working on it. Radio Shack would be happy to sell you one.
 
  #4  
Old 04-04-04, 09:21 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,027
Received 513 Upvotes on 418 Posts
A car radio can use a fair amount of power. You need a 2 or 3 amp supply at least. A 12v battery charger should work.
 
  #5  
Old 04-04-04, 01:19 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
how about any info about making your own adapter?
 
  #6  
Old 04-04-04, 01:24 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,627
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Technically, it's not an adapter - it's a converter. And, it's probably cheaper to buy one than to try to make one - and I know it's much safer.

Good luck!
 
  #7  
Old 04-06-04, 01:37 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Someone suggested possibly using a 12V power supply out of a computer. What does that sound like to you experts?
 
  #8  
Old 04-06-04, 02:06 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Not enough power.
 
  #9  
Old 04-07-04, 11:37 PM
Pendragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,767
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
There are any number of sources for 12v power, how long are you going to be running the 12v device?

A standard 12v power supply (ie radio shack).
A 12v power supply with a cig lighter type socket (also radio shack)
A 12v battery charger
A computer power supply (since you asked, unless it's a teenie 100watt job, would have plenty for your average head unit). The 12v line on my 350 watt unit is rated for 16 amps.

Whatever you end up using, just make sure it's a _regulated_ power supply. Radio shack sells some 12v units that are unregulated, and this isn't what you want.

FWIW, my Double DIN Pioneer has a stated maximum power draw of 10 amps, at maximum, this would exceed all but the most expense of standard 12v power supplies. You'd need a good battery charger/battery or PC power supply to get that much power cheaply.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: