Temporary Ground for Computer Surge Suppressor

Old 04-07-04, 03:10 PM
chende02
Visiting Guest
Temporary Ground for Computer Surge Suppressor

My wife and I have bought a one-story house in Houston, TX that was built in 1959. It has cloth two-wire throughout, with no ground anywhere. I'm a software developer with 4 computers and more on the way and obviously need ground wire. I have numerous surge suppressors and it's my understanding I need a "real ground" for them to work properly.

Tonight I'm driving a temporary 8 foot ground rod near the office window (next to a fence post) and I have assembled a receptacle box (outdoor waterproof type) with a ground wire and a two-prong extension cord. This is going to be loose in my office until I've done proper rewiring. In the receptacle box I've put a GFCI on one side and a conventional receptacle on the other (it's a double-ganged box I believe it's called - it holds two receptacles). I'll bring the green ground wire in from the rod and the hot and neutral from the two-prong outlet via the extension cord. I've wired it correctly in the receptacles (second outlet is on load side of GFCI). I've tested the GFCI and it's wired correctly (I understand the new ones won't reset without power and without power connected correctly). The second outlet cuts out when the GFCI is tripped.

I just need to drive the ground rod and plug it in. Have I made any serious mistake here?

I need this to last me until I do the bigger job of rewiring the house. I realize this is by no means a permanent set-up, but any gross errors you can see I've made for a two-to-four-week duration?

Thanks.

Old 04-07-04, 03:49 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post