New Receptical


  #1  
Old 04-09-04, 08:58 AM
Michael White
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
New Receptical

Can I add a duplex unswitched receptical next to a receptical that is switched. ?
 
  #2  
Old 04-09-04, 09:09 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It depends on the wiring in the box. If unswitched power is in the box then yes, else no, unless you redo the wiring in some manner.
 
  #3  
Old 04-09-04, 09:40 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
If only one half of the receptacle is switched (very often the case), then the answer is certainly yes.

If both halves of the receptacle are switched, then examine the wiring at the switch. If the switch has a white wire connected to it, then the answer will also be yes.

There's a few other possibilities too, but let's start with the above two.
 
  #4  
Old 04-09-04, 11:45 AM
Michael White
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Recepticle

Thanks for the info. There is a white wire at the switch. Will work on it this w/e and let you know.
 
  #5  
Old 04-09-04, 11:49 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Note that John said "connected to the switch". A white wire in the switch box is different than a white wire connected to the switch.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: