el switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-25-04, 11:40 AM
gordypoo
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
el switch

i'm wireing a 4 gallon, 110 volt water heater, it has an el plugin cord. i want to put it on a switch. it is on a 20 amp breaker, using no, 12 wire. i have a(leviton heavy duty grounding double pole switch), i'm familiar w/ the regular 2 screw switch, but i thought useing a heavy duty on w/h would be wise? anyway, when i look at the diagram of the switch on the box in comparison to the switch, there are differances, there is no way to wire it as shown on box, am i being perinoid.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-25-04, 12:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just use one pole. The screw on one end of one side connected to the screw in the same side on the other end. If it is conected with a cord and plug, there is no need for the switch really, as the plug is the disconnect.
 
  #3  
Old 04-25-04, 04:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just make sure the switch is a 20-amp rated switch.
 
  #4  
Old 04-26-04, 05:26 PM
gordypoo
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks, will post back.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: