Occsassioanal Power drops through out house

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-27-04, 07:50 PM
wjm8914
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Occsassioanal Power drops through out house

My house is about 25 years old. Over the past 3 months, we've been experiencing power drops throughout the house. The lights dim, sometimes its one room, other times it every room. The local electric company says it's not them. Local electrician has been here twice and it never happens when he's here. The only electrical item that has changed in the house in that time frame is that I change the door bell transformer to 16volt. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-27-04, 08:30 PM
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Same here

I have the same problem, I moved into my house 6 mounths ago and we noticed the lights quickly dim about 3 to 6 times a hour. We had only 3 breakers in the house and old K&T wiring running thought the attic witch was insulated. So we had a new panel and wiring done to the house. Things are much better when the washing machine and the fridge are running but the lights still flicker. Our electrician said it must be out position on the transformer, Its looks like we are at the end. We had the power company out several times and still they canít figure out what is up. The power company put a device on the lines to monitor the voltage and we are waiting the results.
 
  #3  
Old 04-27-04, 08:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
wjm, you say he electric company says that it is not them. Did they come out and check, or did they just tell you that on the phone?

You also say the electrician has been out twice but it didn't happen when he was there. But did he do anything? If so, what?
 
  #4  
Old 04-28-04, 04:45 PM
wjm8914
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
update

The power company came out check the meter and wiring outside the house.

The electrician tightened several breakers each time, check the meter and now wants to go through each outlet and light switch in the house to check them out. Still waiting for the estimate on that visit.
 
  #5  
Old 04-28-04, 09:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Sounds like you're following the right leads. I'd try to get the power company out there again to try harder.
 
  #6  
Old 05-10-04, 07:26 PM
wjm8914
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Angry Still having issues

The power company came back today. They put some kind of voltage monitor on the line to the house. Results was steady no fluctations. So they suggest that I call the electrician back. They think its some kind of ground fault or breaker problem, possibly the main breaker since the problem is through out the entire house. The power company said their next steps would be the replace the wire from the pole to the house. I'm going to call the electrician tomorrow but does anyone have any suggestions?
 
  #7  
Old 05-11-04, 06:50 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Did your lights ever dim while the power company had their monitor connected?

You might choose a different electrician this time since this guy has been there twice already and hasn't helped.
 
  #8  
Old 05-12-04, 06:12 AM
wjm8914
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
more info

I don't think the problem occured while the power company was here. They were outside working on things for over an hour, but since it was during the day I didn't have some of the lights on that I would at night. Thanks - I should have thought of that. The conditions should be the same when running the tests.

I think you're about looking for a new electrician. The power company rep made the same suggestion. He gave me a few names and I will call them today.

Something new to add:
I was checking the electrical box yesterday and several breakers that were very loose. I also found one breaker to be very hot to the touch. It's actually a double breaker for my electric clothes dryer. I also heard a crackling sound when I moved that breaker. But it only makes that noise when the dryer is on. The lights stopped dimming for a while but started again about two hours later. I'm going to replace that breaker over the weekend and see if that helps.
 
  #9  
Old 05-12-04, 06:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
What is the brand of the panel that you have? Breakers should not be hot to the touch, and they should not be loose. Inspect the busbars in the panel for pitting or corrosion. If you don't feel resistance when you put in the new breaker then it doesn't make good contact, and will overheat. I will definetely replace all "loose" and "hot" breakers. They can both give you random "dimming" lights.
 
  #10  
Old 05-12-04, 08:35 AM
scott e.'s Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Anderson, IN
Posts: 412
As Trinitro says, check the bussbars of the breaker panel for burning/pitting. If the bussbars are burnt, try to relocate the breaker to another portion of the bus and abandon that position. Simply replacing the breaker on a burnt bus will cause the problem to happen again or something worse. If the bus is burnt bad enough, you might need a panel replacement.

Scott E.
 
  #11  
Old 05-18-04, 07:50 PM
wjm8914
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Changed a few breakers and move some around in the box. Haven't had any flickers in two days. Going to give it a few more days but I think it's fixed. Thanks to everyone who contributed information
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes