20 amp outlet on 15 amp circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-13-04, 09:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NE
Posts: 122
20 amp outlet on 15 amp circuit

I was wondering if it matters putting a single 20 amp outlet on a 15 amp circuit? The outlet is for a microwave hood above our stove. I had to put an outlet in the cabinet above. The circuit is tied to our kitchen/dining room lighting/outlets. The microwave will work on a 15 or 20 amp circuit. I bought a 20 amp outlet just in case and found that the circuit is 15 amps.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-13-04, 09:24 AM
hornetd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 695
Post Code compiance

To comply with the electtric code you should install a fifteen ampere receptacle. Twenty ampere receptacles should only be installed on twenty ampere circuits.
--
Tom Horne
 
  #3  
Old 05-13-04, 12:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
A 20 amp receptacle(with one slot horizontal) is NOT allowed to be installed on a 15 amp circuit. If you try to run a 20 amp device on a 15amp circuit you will be forever blowing breakers.
 

Last edited by joed; 05-13-04 at 03:49 PM. Reason: Add the word 'NOT' in a very important place
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'