20 amp outlet on 15 amp circuit


  #1  
Old 05-13-04, 09:10 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NE
Posts: 121
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
20 amp outlet on 15 amp circuit

I was wondering if it matters putting a single 20 amp outlet on a 15 amp circuit? The outlet is for a microwave hood above our stove. I had to put an outlet in the cabinet above. The circuit is tied to our kitchen/dining room lighting/outlets. The microwave will work on a 15 or 20 amp circuit. I bought a 20 amp outlet just in case and found that the circuit is 15 amps.
 
  #2  
Old 05-13-04, 09:24 AM
hornetd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 646
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Post Code compiance

To comply with the electtric code you should install a fifteen ampere receptacle. Twenty ampere receptacles should only be installed on twenty ampere circuits.
--
Tom Horne
 
  #3  
Old 05-13-04, 12:10 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,043
Received 516 Upvotes on 421 Posts
A 20 amp receptacle(with one slot horizontal) is NOT allowed to be installed on a 15 amp circuit. If you try to run a 20 amp device on a 15amp circuit you will be forever blowing breakers.
 

Last edited by joed; 05-13-04 at 03:49 PM. Reason: Add the word 'NOT' in a very important place
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: