220V Outlet Tester?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-16-04, 06:56 PM
Vmusic's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 28
220V Outlet Tester?

Hi,
Is there a inexpensive 220V outlet tester sold in most home improvement stores? I looked at Lowe's and Home Depot and didn't see one along with the 110 testers?

I have a Kenmore electric dryer on a 220V line that stopped working a couple of days ago. It has worked fine for a year. I checked the breaker and it's fine, I even tripped it off then back on.

I'd like to check the 220V outlet the dryer's plugged into, but I don't have a tester and I really don't want to pay $70 or so for some high tech multi-tester.

Any help would be appreciated!!!!
Thanks,
Vmusic
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-16-04, 08:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
How's two bucks sound? Just get a neon circuit tester with two probes.
 
  #3  
Old 05-17-04, 03:57 PM
imjerry
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Or 3 Bucks

2 pigtail sockets, 2 -20 watt bulbs, one wire nut!! just splice the white of one pigtail to the black of the other, put a wiire nut on the connection, put a 20 watt bulb in each pigtail socket and Voila a 220 Volt tester!!! Test with free white and black wire !!!
 
  #4  
Old 05-17-04, 06:15 PM
Vmusic's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 28
I'm getting closer - MORE HELP NEEDED

Hi,
Sir THANKS!!! So much. I got a tester for less than 5 bucks. I'm happy. Now I just want to be certain I stick the two testing prongs into the correct slots on the outlet.

http://www.kerezycom.com/ElectricalH...st220Volt.html

Please look at the picture on the link above and let me know which slots, by letter name please I need to stick the prongs of the test into.


Thanks So Much!!!!!
 
  #5  
Old 05-17-04, 08:38 PM
jughead's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Posts: 597
You should have 220 volts between A and B. C is the ground connection, assuming the outlet is wired correctly.
 
  #6  
Old 05-17-04, 08:48 PM
Vmusic's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 28
Thanks Jughead!!! You helped me out

Hi,
Thanks so much for everyone's help. The outlet is working..... so I know it's the dryer that's not.

HHHhmmm Kenmore...............hhhhmmmmm

Thanks again for everyone's help!
 
  #7  
Old 05-17-04, 09:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Stick the probes in all combinations of holes. You should have 240 between A & B, and 120 between A & C, and 120 between B & C.

What is your problem with the dryer:
  1. The drum turns, but there is no heat.
  2. There is heat, but the drum doesn't turn.
  3. Nothing works. The timer doesn't even tick.
  4. Something else?
 
  #8  
Old 05-17-04, 09:40 PM
Vmusic's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 28
Dryer Problem

Hi,
I think it's electrical. The light inside doesn't come on. Basically nothing works.

The dryer is ONLY 2 years old. It's a Kenmore Elite - Evenheat. It has this moisture sensor feature.

It worked fine up untill a week ago, then all of a sudden it seemed like it didn't work. The inside light wasn't on. I jiggled the cord, unplugged it and plugged it back into the outlet, then it worked again. Then a few days later is stopped working again.

I think something's wrong with the cord, or the electronics internally.

BummmA
 
  #9  
Old 05-17-04, 09:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
You didn't tell us what kind of tester you bought, or what readings it gave you.

From what you describe, it may be a bad connection of the wires to the receptacle inside the receptacle box. Or a bad connection of the cord to the dryer. Probably an easy fix.
 
  #10  
Old 05-17-04, 10:20 PM
Vmusic's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 28
Tester Info....

Sorry,
It's a simple GB / Gardner Bender tester. I simply tested for voltage. There are two lights that light up, and the second 240V light was lit when I put the prongs in the A & B slots - see pic on this web page
http://www.kerezycom.com/ElectricalH...st220Volt.html


Since the dryer worked fine for the past year and a half, I'm assuming it's something electrical within the dryer - and NOT the outlet.

The housing, for the three wires from the power cord, does float or move up and down. Maybe it's not supposed to?

Thanks,
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes