Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

14awg or 12awg (related to thread "Outlet and Switch Combo")

14awg or 12awg (related to thread "Outlet and Switch Combo")

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-21-04, 12:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 87
14awg or 12awg (related to thread "Outlet and Switch Combo")

Please see my thread "Outlet and Switch Combo".

I want to install an outlet in the same box as a switch. As I was attempting to do this project, I noticed the wires are 14awg for the switch. I just read something that suggests using a minimum of 12awg for receptacles. Based on this information, it would not be advisable to install a receptacle in this box as the wire is 14awg. Does everyone agree with this?

Thanks,
William
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-21-04, 01:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
The recommendation to use all 12-gauge wiring applies when wiring a new circuit. And it's a personal preference--not a global recommendation. Consider it more like one-man's recommendation for Benjamin Moore paint over Sherwin Williams (example only--I have no opinion on these paints).

Most residential receptacle circuits being wired today are still wired with 14-gauge on 15-amp circuits.

It's perfectly fine to add a receptacle with 14-gauge wire on to an existing 15-amp circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 05-21-04, 01:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 87
Response to John Nelson

I appreciate the prompt response. I hope to complete the wiring tonight and will post the outcome.

Thanks again.

William
 
  #4  
Old 05-21-04, 03:04 PM
Aegis
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Related to this, where can I find a table showing requisite wire gauges for particular amperage?
 
  #5  
Old 05-21-04, 03:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
14-gauge copper is good for 15 amps in most conditions.
12-gauge copper is good for 20 amps in most conditions.
10-gauge copper is good for 30 amps in most conditions.

Any table which shows you ampacity for larger than 10-gauge copper (and such tables exist) is being very general. Once you get above 10 gauge, there are just too many variables to yield to a simple table.
 
  #6  
Old 05-21-04, 04:00 PM
Aegis
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool, thank you sir.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'