electrical question

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-22-04, 07:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 151
electrical question

Is it acceptable to run 6/3 nm from main panel to outside in sch40 pipe??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-22-04, 08:17 AM
hornetd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 695
Question Why do you want to run type NM cable in Conduit?

What addition of the code is enforced in your area? Why do you want to run the NM in rigid nonmetallic conduit? Type NM cable is suitable to be run by itself in most areas as long as it is not exposed to physical damage.
--
Tom Horne
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-04, 08:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 151
I think it needs to be run in conduit because it's for a spa which has a light and i think with a light it needs to be run in conduit all the way from the main. Is that right?
 
  #4  
Old 05-22-04, 10:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
In most situations, you can't run NM outside whether in conduit or not, because NM is rated only for dry locations. And in most cases, you can't wire a spa with NM because it needs an insulated ground. You are right about the conduit though.
 
  #5  
Old 05-22-04, 12:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 151
So should I run #6 thhn or thwn?
 
  #6  
Old 05-22-04, 12:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Yes.

You need THWN, but almost all THHN is dual-rated THWN.
 
  #7  
Old 05-22-04, 04:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 151
Thank you very much. It's people like you that make this country great!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes