electrical question


  #1  
Old 05-22-04, 06:13 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 151
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
electrical question

Is it acceptable to run 6/3 nm from main panel to outside in sch40 pipe??
 
  #2  
Old 05-22-04, 07:17 AM
hornetd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 695
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Why do you want to run type NM cable in Conduit?

What addition of the code is enforced in your area? Why do you want to run the NM in rigid nonmetallic conduit? Type NM cable is suitable to be run by itself in most areas as long as it is not exposed to physical damage.
--
Tom Horne
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-04, 07:52 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 151
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think it needs to be run in conduit because it's for a spa which has a light and i think with a light it needs to be run in conduit all the way from the main. Is that right?
 
  #4  
Old 05-22-04, 09:35 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In most situations, you can't run NM outside whether in conduit or not, because NM is rated only for dry locations. And in most cases, you can't wire a spa with NM because it needs an insulated ground. You are right about the conduit though.
 
  #5  
Old 05-22-04, 11:25 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 151
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So should I run #6 thhn or thwn?
 
  #6  
Old 05-22-04, 11:33 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes.

You need THWN, but almost all THHN is dual-rated THWN.
 
  #7  
Old 05-22-04, 03:26 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 151
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you very much. It's people like you that make this country great!!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: