240 Volt GFCI Breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-22-04, 11:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,467
240 Volt GFCI Breaker

At my lake property Iíve built a small (3 x 3) pump house with a 240V two hp lawn sprinkler pump. Iíve installed a standard 240V receptacle in the outdoor box (also has two 30 Amp camper receptacles and a 120V GFCI receptacle). On the rare occasion when watering is needed I plug in a heavy-duty extension cord (about 120 feet long and 50 pounds with #12 wire) from the box to a 2 foot wire with 240V plug on the pump.

Works great but I would imagine the 240V receptacle should be GFCI protected to be legal, correct?

SoÖin my book ĎWiring Simplified by HP Richterí a breaker is mentioned, it says:

ďÖ120/240-volt, three-wire types (which will protect a 120/240-volt circuit or a 240-volt, two-wire circuit)Ē

My guess is I have the latter, a two-wire circuit, two hots and a ground, correct?

Any idea where I could purchase this breaker, sure Iíll never find it in our small town?

Also, would it be a good idea to drive a ground rod near the pump and connect it to the pump someplace or is the ground in the cord OK? Iíve never worked with 240V GFCI breakers.

Thank you very much for any suggestions.

Baldwin
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-22-04, 08:12 PM
ampz's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 536
Yes its 2 hots {2 pole breaker}It may not need GFCI protection at the pump,but I'm not certain check the codes in your area.I do know however that a disconnect is required within site of the pump.This allows for service of the pump without any hazards.Any reputable electrical supply will have the breaker.I recommend bringing info from the breaker panel {on inside cover} or an unused breaker from the panel if possible to get an exact match. I also recommend you increase the gauge of the wire for the extensioncord to #6 AWG.The reason for this is #12 is only rated for 20amps & with 120 ft you start to incur some voltage drop.#8 AWG may be acceptable in this case. I apoligize because this will increase the weight a great deal. No groundrod is required.
 
  #3  
Old 05-23-04, 08:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,467
Lightbulb

Found the book that came with the pump, it says:

HP.....2
Volt.....230
Max Load Amps....14.1
Time Delay Fuse Rating Amps.....25
Distance In Feet From Motor To Meter....
0 to 100'.......14 AWG
101 to 200'....14 AWG
201 to 350'....12 AWG
351 to 500'....10 AWG

Could it be because it is only turning a small impeller it doesn't require bigger wire? Maximum amps is only 14.1

Concerning the disconnect, the motor has a 2 foot cord with a male 240V plug, you just unplug it.

Darned if I know.

Thanks,

Baldwin
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'