Doorbell hums, easy fixes aren't working


  #1  
Old 05-23-04, 10:59 AM
blueblazer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Doorbell hums, easy fixes aren't working

Hi,

My old doorbell stopped ringing one day and just starting humming ominously as if it were about to blow up. Not like the bell was stuck in the "ring" position but like the chime box was just emitting a loud, constant electical hum.

I replaced both the doorbell button and the chime box with all-new equipment. Unfortunately, the new one does the same thing...pushing the button does nothing, and the chime box just hums ominously whether the button is pushed or not.

Any idea what I should do next? Any help is *much* appreciated.

BB
 
  #2  
Old 05-23-04, 01:06 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Have you added a chime unit, or replaced the chime unit with something other than a simple one?

Whether the answer is yes or no, the solution is to find and replace the transformer. It's usually mounted either near the furnace or near the electrical panel.

If you currently have a 10va transformer, you might consider a 20va or 30va transformer, especially if you have mutiple chime units or if the chime unit is fancy.
 
  #3  
Old 05-23-04, 02:54 PM
blueblazer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks John. I thought that might be it. I'll see if I can figure out where the transformer is and replace that.

I replaced a simple unit with another simple unit...no chimes. I'll upgrade the transformer, though, as long as I'm replacing it.
 
  #4  
Old 05-23-04, 05:55 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,912
Received 326 Votes on 281 Posts
Sounds like the wire to one of the buttons is shorted. Does it hum if you leave the wires to the buttons disconnected at the chime unit?
 
  #5  
Old 05-23-04, 06:00 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Upon rereading this, I think Joe's idea is better than mine. I thought the humming was only when the button was pushed. If it hums all the time, it sounds like a short. If you can't find it, you might consider replacing it with a wireless doorbell button.
 
  #6  
Old 05-23-04, 06:36 PM
blueblazer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
It hums all the time. not just when the button is pressed. Since I can't find the transformer, I'll take another look at the wires. Would hate to put in a wireless doorbell but will if I have to.
 
  #7  
Old 05-23-04, 09:53 PM
blueblazer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Joe, I'll check tomorrow...what you're asking is, does the chime unit hum even if the wire is disconnected at the button?
 
  #8  
Old 05-24-04, 08:23 AM
txdiyguy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 249
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like the button is stuck.
 
  #9  
Old 05-24-04, 04:47 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,912
Received 326 Votes on 281 Posts
NO I'm thinking the wire from the button is shorted. I think you said you already tried removing the button and it still hummed. Can you remove the button wire at the chime? You should have power wires and button wires at the chime unit.
 
  #10  
Old 05-24-04, 06:16 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah, BB would be one very unlucky guy if he had two stuck doorbell buttons in a row.
 
  #11  
Old 05-24-04, 08:18 PM
blueblazer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Is there anyway to test for a shorted wire other than having a chime box that hums?

I did not get a chance to work on this tonight but plan on tackling it tomorrow, so will let you all know where I stand. I appreciate all the help.

c
 
  #12  
Old 05-25-04, 07:20 PM
blueblazer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Success

I figured out what was happening. A screen door and door frame were added after the house was constructed, and rather than cut a hole in the frame for the doorbell wires, whoever installed this just screwed the frame on over the wires and left them sticking out. The frame pinched the wires through the insulation, and over the years it finally caused a short. I think everything is working now. Thanks for the help.

BB
 
  #13  
Old 05-26-04, 08:04 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good work. And thanks for the update.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: