Neutral At Switches

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-25-04, 05:16 PM
tigersnake
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Neutral At Switches

How's It Going? This Is A Great Site. I Bought An Older Home, We Had An Electrician Inspect The House And Install A New Service Entrance. When I Was Changing Some Of The Older Swithces I Discovered That The Switches Were Splitting The Neutral Rather Than The Hot Wire To All The Lights In The House. These All Work Fine But Will This Be A Problem? Do I Need To Go And Rewire All The Lights To Switch The Hot? Thanks Ts
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-25-04, 05:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
How did you decide that the switches were switching the neutral?
 
  #3  
Old 05-25-04, 05:48 PM
tigersnake
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
We Traced Them Back To The Junction Box Or Light Where It Was Switched And Tested The Connections Then Confirmed It By Disconecting Wires And Using Ohm Meter To Trace Them.
 
  #4  
Old 05-25-04, 07:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,467
Just a question. Why Do You Capitalize Every Word, it's more irritating than the_person_that_does_this?

Sorry, been a bad day.
 
  #5  
Old 05-25-04, 07:58 PM
tigersnake
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I Type In All Caps The Sight Changes It.
 
  #6  
Old 05-25-04, 08:02 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
We Traced Them Back To The Junction Box Or Light Where It Was Switched And Tested The Connections Then Confirmed It By Disconecting Wires And Using Ohm Meter To Trace Them.
Have you used a Voltmeter to test the wires? The method you mentioned will not actually test for Hot/Neutral, it will only confirm that you have the same wire. What Bob is asking is how do you know that that is actually the Neutral wire and not the Hot wire?
 
  #7  
Old 05-25-04, 08:05 PM
tigersnake
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Yes I Did Volt Tests Before The Ohm Test We Ohmed Just To Be Sure The Wire Was The One To That Switch.
 
  #8  
Old 05-26-04, 06:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Somehow I expect that your diagnostic procedure is somehow flawed. But I just don't have enough details about exactly what you did to spot the flaw. So far, we've only been speaking in generalities. Pick one specific switch and give us all the gorey details.
 
  #9  
Old 05-26-04, 11:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
Originally Posted by tigersnake
I Type In All Caps The Sight Changes It.
Typing in all caps is considered yelling. You should not do that.
Are you sure the neutral is switched nad it is not just the white wire being used as a switch loop?
If the neutral is switched then yes you should change it so the hot is switched.
 
  #10  
Old 05-26-04, 01:34 PM
tigersnake
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The switch in the kitchen gets its source power from a 12/2 w/ground black, white, and bare. This comes in at the light, the black which is 120volts to ground, is hot, the white is neutral. The black hot wires are tied together with a wire nut and pigtale to the hot side of the light, the white wires are tied to one side of the switch wire down to the switch then back to the pigtale for hooked to the neutral side of the light. I am going to change all of these because I can see that this could be a problem. Thanks for the help and the typing advice. TS
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'