GFCI outlet stopped working - easy fix?

Old 06-09-04, 07:52 AM
mstadnik
Visiting Guest
GFCI outlet stopped working - easy fix?

I have an electrical outlet in my bathroom that just recently stopped working. It is the only outlet in the bathroom. The vanity light fixture in the same room is still working.

The outlet has "test" and "reset" buttons on it, and from some research this morning see that this is a GFCI outlet I believe.

I pressed the "reset" button and it didn't fix the problem.

Are there any solid diagnostic tests I can run to troubleshoot this issue?

Note: I have very little electrical wiring experience. If I have to call an electrician, I am not opposed to it. But it seems that there are some things I can do first before I take that step.

Thanks for any advice.

mark

Old 06-09-04, 08:11 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Two possibilities: (1) you have a ground fault, (2) you have a defective GFCI.

Consider the first possibility. Ground faults can be caused by a number of things. One of the most common is water. If someone spashed water into something electrical (not necessarily this one outlet), it can cause a ground fault. That ground fault will not clear until it dries out, which could take several days. If you know of water that got into something electrical (perhaps somebody using a power washer outside the house, or the kids playing with the hose in the back yard, or somebody taking a vigorous bath, or a heavy rainstorm), then you can try to accelerate the drying process with a hair dryer. Otherwise, I suggest you wait a week to see if it clears itself. If not, post back.

Old 06-09-04, 08:42 AM
mstadnik
Visiting Guest
Thanks for the response John.

From what I know, the outlet stopped working a few weeks ago. Thus, not sure if giving it more time to dry will resolve.

Is there anything in the circuit breaker box in the basement I need to recycle possibly? All of the circuit breakers are in the "ON" position.