GCFI Keeps Tripping - HELP PLEASE

Old 06-11-04, 06:08 PM
rsmf68
Visiting Guest
Red face GCFI Keeps Tripping - HELP PLEASE

I'm a beginner - so please bear with me and hopefully help me see the light....

1. I have a switch in my kitchen that controls the power to an outlet in the middle of my backyard (which still works fine- that is not the problem.)

2. I want to move the outlet from the middle of the yard to a new outlet mounted to my house and then run another line to the back end of the yard for a pond.

3. I then shut off the power, dug up all the wire, mounted a new GCFI outlet with the existing 14-2 UF wire (black wire to hot, white wire to neutral in the line holes in the receptacle, and pig tailed the ground - see item #4 below.)

4. Then ran approximately 100ft of 12-2 UF wire (black to hot, white to neutral, pigtailed the grounds to the receptacle in the load line.) The reason I ran 12-2 is becuase a wiring book recommended it becuase it is over 50 feet run of cable.

5. Installed another GCFI outlet near the pond (black wire to hot, white to neutral, and ground to screw in the second receptacle near the pond.)

6. Turned on the power, it worked for about 30 minutes then tripped and keeps tripping no matter what I try. I checked all wiring and everything to mee seems as it should be.)

This is all running from a 15amp breaker.

Anyhelp would be apprecited - I'm going nuts.....

Sponsored Links
Old 06-11-04, 06:25 PM
Which one is tripping? The one at the house or the one at the pond? Since you used the load side at the house you don't need another GFCI at the pond. The one at the house will protect it.

Old 06-11-04, 07:14 PM
rsmf68
Visiting Guest
To clarify my original post....

The one at the house is tripping. I tried to replace the second GFI with a regular outlet (covered&protected from the elements) but the GFI at the house keeps tripping.