Low Outlet Voltage

Old 06-21-04, 11:31 AM
Low Outlet Voltage

Hey all,

Newbie to this board & have the following problem...

I have an outlet I've been using constantly for the last 2 months for my 24/7 wireless modem power. Then all of a sudden, I lost my wireless connection - no power at the radio box. I unplugged the adapter (not a 3 prong, but it is a polarized plug) & plugged in a regular lamp & still nothing. I used my digital meter & it says it's only getting 20.4 volts. All breakers are on and NOT tripped. House is old - no GFCI outlets.

Possibly loose wire in a junction box somewhere?

Suggestions?

Thanks,
Dale

Sponsored Links
Old 06-21-04, 11:36 AM
The reading you got with the digital voltmeter is meaningless and misleading. Ignore it.

You likely either have a weak connection that has finally opened up, or you have a tripped GFCI (perhaps one that you don't even know about yet), or the breaker is really tripped but doesn't look like it.

First, determine the extent of the outage. Figure out everything that is without power. Is it more than just this one outlet?

Next, go turn off and back on every 15-amp and 20-amp breaker in your box.

If you have a ground somewhere (even a water pipe), you can use your voltmeter to measure each of the two slits in your receptacle to ground. If you can do that, post back the results.

Old 06-23-04, 06:12 AM
Ok, I went up in the attic & found the junction box the outlet is fed from.

The outlet was one of 4 that was tapped off the line from the breaker box.

I untaped the 2 connections & checked the voltage with my dvm on the group of my twisted wires. It said 20.5 volts, then I tried a different spot on a different area of the same connection & it said 122.3v.

The outlet is working fine now.

What is the cause of the voltage diff on the same connection? Is it a fire hazard? Is there a proper way to connect 4 lines in a junction box?

Thanks,
Dale

Old 06-23-04, 06:30 AM