Installing new doorbell (chimes)

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-24-04, 08:51 PM
akasbj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post Installing new doorbell (chimes)

We bought new chimes for doorbell installed on home built in 1986 (modular). Now we are told that we must locate the transformer but cannot find it. Do you have to locate the transformer or can you simply rewire and install a new transformer? If this cannot be accomplished, how about the wireless doorbells? How do they work?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-25-04, 09:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
You should KNOW where the transformer is already. However, you don't.

Who told you that you need locate the transformer, or why do you think that you do?

Yoiu only need to locate the transformer if you need to replace it.

A wireless doorbell has a unit that plugs into a receptacle outlet. it then has one or two pushbuttons. The pushbuttons contain a battery and transmit a signal to the doorbell making it ding or dong or both.
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-04, 10:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Are you replacing the chime, or adding an extra chime?

The transformer is most often located either near the main panel, or near the furnace. It's normally out in the open, in plain sight.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'