220V Circuit Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-25-04, 05:49 AM
CA48157
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
220V Circuit Question

I have an existing 220V 20 Amp circuit for a window air conditioner. I am interested in replacing the existing a/c with a new unit that calls for 220V 15 Amps. The existing wiring is 12 gauge. Can I just replace the 20 Amp breaker with a 15 Amp breaker and switch the recepticle with a 15 Amp version? Is leaving the 12 gauge wire in place acceptable?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-25-04, 06:55 AM
scott e.'s Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Anderson, IN
Posts: 412
if the receptacle is a 20A only, and not a 20A/15A combo unit, then you should be able to just plug in the AC and go. If this is the only receptacle on the circuit and it does not work with the AC plug, replace it with a 20A/15A combo unit. Then nothing needs rewired. The breakers protect the wiring, not the appliance.
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-04, 09:06 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
I agree. If the plug will fit the receptacle, then just plug it in. Does the plug fit the receptacle?
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-04, 10:06 AM
CA48157
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The receptacle is a combo, so the new unit will plug in okay. My thought was that if it was recommended to change to a 15 Amp breaker then I would change to a 15 Amp only receptacle.

Thanks
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'