Uk Electricain Help

Old 06-23-04, 12:25 AM
Snape
Visiting Guest
Talking Uk Electricain Help

Hi guys, im currently a electrician in England, im moving to Ottawa next year and i have been studying alot of Canadian electrics via sites just brushing up on the cable colours and differences.
Ive noticed that you run both your power sockets (Recepticles) on the same circuits as your lighting, is this practical as in England lighting is on a seperate circuit usually 6A and Sockets (Recepticles) are on 20A - 32A.
Also does anyone know which saftey code book i will need to get and follow, and where i might buy a copy so i can start studying the regulations.

Will be greatfull for any advice that can be offered to me.

Thanks for all your help so far.
This is a really useful site aswell by the ways.
Ian Snape

Old 06-23-04, 03:43 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I am not an electrician in Canada, but this link below seams logical.
http://www.techstreet.com/cgi-bin/de...duct_id=931615

Old 06-23-04, 05:16 AM
W
Having lighting and receptacles share the same circuit works acceptably; after all, even in England they plug their floor lamps into the receptacle circuit. Sometimes one has problems with the lights flickering when large loads are turned on, and it is IMHO good design to separate lighting and receptacle circuits, but this is not required by code (US perspective here).

The really really big difference is that much less power is delivered by a single circuit, so there are more circuits in a comparable home. A UK ring main is often 32A at 240V...but the largest 'general purpose' circuit in a US home will be 20A 120V. Ring circuits are prohibited. Receptacles and plugs are not fused. Large appliances use 240V, but in the form of two 120V phases balanced about a neutral (or in some cases 208V in the form of two 120V phases in a three phase system)