Double tapping ground wires

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-06-04, 08:31 PM
Larryu's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: US
Posts: 129
Double tapping ground wires

I am installing a gfci breaker in a siemens box that has one open position.My question is that with the ground,neutral,and white wire from the breaker,I am one opening short on the ground-neutral bus bar.Is it legal to have more than 1 wire in an opening?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-06-04, 09:13 PM
Rlfrazee
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You can double up the bare ground wires but not the white (neutral) wires. There is a reason for this even though the whites and bares terminate on the same bar. Try making a position available by moving a ground wire, if no way to make an opening then ground/neutral bar extentions kits are available or you can buy a single lug......RL
Added thought: Of course power down the panel at the main breaker before doing this.
 

Last edited by Rlfrazee; 07-06-04 at 10:15 PM.
  #3  
Old 07-07-04, 05:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,219
Check the instructions that came with the GFCI breaker. All of the GFCI breakers that I know of require that the neutral wire from the circuit wiring has to go to the _breaker_, then the white tail from the breaker goes to the neutral bar. If you connect the neutral wire from the cable directly to the neutral bar than most (all??) GFCI breakers will trip.

-Jon
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes