Step down 220 to 115

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-16-04, 03:23 AM
giggs50
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Step down 220 to 115

I have a single 220v outlet that was ussed for an old air conditioner. New AC is 115... how do I make this outlet 115v............can I change it at the breaker box by dropping one side of the 220??
thaanks garrett
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-16-04, 04:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
The answer is maybe.

What size 220 breaker is installed? 15 amp? 20 amp? What size is the wire? 14 gauge? 12 gauge?


What are the requirements for the new air conditioner?
 
  #3  
Old 07-16-04, 06:48 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
You'll probably be happier if you can return this air conditioner and buy a 240-volt unit.
 
  #4  
Old 07-17-04, 10:03 AM
giggs50
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Price prohibits buying 220 AC so I am going to have to stick with this 110v outfit.


Originally Posted by John Nelson
You'll probably be happier if you can return this air conditioner and buy a 240-volt unit.
 
  #5  
Old 07-17-04, 01:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Okay, we can help you with that. Please answer Bob's questions. If you need some help answering them, let us know.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'