Rewire house?


  #1  
Old 07-16-04, 05:19 PM
biglou00
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Smile Rewire house?

Does $4000 sound like a high price to rewire an 800 square foot 2 bed room house. 2 rooms are already gutted. I'm in TN.
 
  #2  
Old 07-16-04, 07:46 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
More information is needed.

Does the panel need to be replaced? Does the cable to the meter or from the meter need to be replaced? Does the house have 220 circuits, and if so, what are they for? Are there any special or unusual circuit requirements? Will there be a sub panel in the garage?

Nonbody can really say whether that is a good price or not until they know what is involved.
 
  #3  
Old 07-16-04, 08:21 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
It sounds on the high side to me, but depending on circumstances, it's possible that it is fair. Get two more bids, and make sure you compare the details. Not everybody's "rewire" is going to be the same.
 
  #4  
Old 07-17-04, 06:45 AM
biglou00
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up Rewire High

Yeah that was very high. $3950 was my first bid. I think he sensed the urgency to get the job done. My second bid came in at $1950 for the same job and he told me I did not need a total rewire. Some of my wires had been updated previously. Now I am looking at closer to $1000.00 Shew.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: