Junction box for 10-3 wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-19-04, 01:38 PM
1825Colonial
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Junction box for 10-3 wiring

Can I use a junction box to wire a dryer with 10-3 wg? In other words, I need to run 60' of wire, but I didn't want to buy 100'.
 
  #2  
Old 07-19-04, 06:11 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NE INDIANA
Posts: 111
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure that I understand the question.... If you're asking about using a junction box to put a splice in, you must keep the box accessable (not behind a wall covering, etc.), but that's an acceptable way to splice wires. If you're asking if you can splice into an existing circuit instead of running a wire to your panel, then you're asking for trouble. I'm not well versed on code, but I believe you would want an electric dryer on its own circuit. I would, anyway!!
 
  #3  
Old 07-19-04, 08:08 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the existing cable has four wires (perhaps unlikely if run prior to 1996), then yes, you can certainly extend it (in a permanently accessible junction box). If the existing cable only has three wires, then run the whole 100 feet.

As HD says, this is only wise if you are merely moving a load rather than adding a load.
 
  #4  
Old 07-20-04, 05:57 AM
1825Colonial
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm adding the circuit and wanted to know if I could extend it with a junction box (circuit only has the dryer).
Thanks for your help and quick response!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: