Replace single pole breaker with tandem breakers

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-27-04, 06:33 AM
Randyb_64
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Replace single pole breaker with tandem breakers

My current breaker box is full and I need to add a 2pole 20 amp breaker to run a new deep well pump that I am having put in. What I would like to do is take 2 15 amp single pole breakers and switch them to a 15amp tandem switch. I would also like to do this with 2 20amp breakers and switch them to a 20amp tandem switch. My breaker box is a Murray LIne and the breakers are labeled as Crouse-Hind. This box was put in when the house was built in 1980. I have a 200amp main breaker, so I feel sure that I would be able to add this 1 switch in. Is it possible to replace these breakers with either a Semiens or Square D breaker? Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-27-04, 06:54 AM
mgb
mgb is offline
Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 136
I wouldn't be surprised if for about the same money you could put in a subpanel, that way you'd have room for future circuits.
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-04, 06:59 PM
ampz's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 536
You can use "twins" {as they're also called}.Cutler-Hammer {type BR}, Siemens {type MP taken from Murray} will definately work. Square Ds Homeline may work but I've only used their QO series which will not work in a Murray panel.
 
  #4  
Old 07-29-04, 07:36 PM
CSelectric
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
FWIW, Murray is, at this point, a wholly owned subsidiary of Seimans E&A. And yes, the Siemans MP is an exact fit for your panel.

Adding tandem breakers should not be a problem as long as the panel is rated for them (if you have a panel with less than 40 circuits it is rated for tandems, at least in the case of a Murray panel.)
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes