2 20 Amp 2 15 Amp Circuits

Old 08-03-04, 10:36 PM
DudleyDoneRite
Visiting Guest
Question 2 20 Amp 2 15 Amp Circuits

I'm remodeling a home that I wound up buying.

I'm finishing off 1480 SF daylight basement. Bedroom, bathroom, bonus room, entertainment room.

The problem is I have 2 20 amp circuits, and 2 15 amp circuits in a sub panel. (Although that could be 4 20's).

I have a large entertainment room 14 * 35 with 14 outlets, and I was thinking about putting them all on a single 20 amp circuit. Leaving 20 amps for the bonus room, bathroom and bedroom outlets, and two fifteen amp circuits for lighting exclusively. Those 14 outlets consist of 8 duplex outlets by code and design, and a 6 plex behind the entertainment center. I could use a power strip after the fact, but I prefer rigid copper to after market crap.

All of this is strung on 12/2WG.

This house is in a very conservative city (Bellevue, WA).

Thoughts? Advice???

Yes I'm licensed and bonded, but I'm not an electrician. I working the rough in now for inspection on Friday.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-04-04, 04:10 AM
If you were thinking that two twenty amp circuits could serve all the recepticles, you need to think again.

The bathroom requires a dedicated 20 amp circuit for it's recepticle(s), which must be GFCI protected. You may put the bathroom lights on this circuit, but nothing else may be on this same circuit.

As for the entertainment room. I would never put more than one duplex recepticle, even for an entertainment center. Do yourt self a favor and buy a good quality surge protector to protect your equipment. The surge protector will have multiple outlets built into it. Depending on exactly what you intend to have there, I would consider using a separate circuit just for that area.

The bedroom needs to be on an AFCI circuit, so that means an additional circuit. And of course the bedroom must have a second means of egress, but that is not an electrical issue.

Old 08-04-04, 07:42 AM