Circuit breaker keeps tripping all of a sudden

Old 08-17-04, 01:38 PM
travelmad478
Visiting Guest
Circuit breaker keeps tripping all of a sudden

In the last several weeks, the circuit breaker for my bathroom has begun to trip for no reason that I can see--no appliances or lights are on at the time, and the only thing plugged in is my electric toothbrush charger. Nothing new is happening in the bathroom, electric-wise. I keep resetting the switch, and a day or two later, it flips off again.

Is this a problem that will require an electrician to diagnose and fix, or are there things I should try on my own first? (I am a complete novice at anything electrical.)

Old 08-17-04, 02:01 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Are you talking about a breaker in the main breaker panel? If so, does this breaker have a "test" button on it?

Or are you talking about a GFCI receptacle, a receptacle with "test" and "reset" buttons on it (which isn't a breaker at all)?

If you are talking about a real breaker, and if this breaker is a GFCI breaker with a test button, then it's probably tripping due to a ground fault rather than due to overload. A common cause of ground faults is water. Is it possible that you splashed water around a receptacle, either in one of your bathrooms, or outside on a porch, or in the garage or basement? Have you used a power washer recently? Or have you had a big storm?

Old 08-18-04, 09:16 AM
travelmad478
Visiting Guest
Yes, I mean the main breaker panel--to reset it, I have to open up the box and flip the switch back to the right position. I'm not sure if there's a test button on the panel, but I'll check when I get home. (What am I checking for? Do I push this button and then wait for something to happen?)