CB and GFCI Outlets


  #1  
Old 08-22-04, 01:05 PM
isuras2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
CB and GFCI Outlets

I have two questions:

1) My breaker panel is the brand "Challenger Electrical Equipment" with Catalog SB15(20-30)CT and Model 4. I was wondering if I wanted to add (2) 120V and (1) 240V circuits at 20A, which brand breakers I would need and what should I look for in the breakers?

2) I will have GFCI outlets for the first outlet in each circuit. The outlets I have been looking at are 3-wire grounding 15A-125V and protects downstream outlets (20A feed-thru). Does this mean that the outlet is only 15A, but the other outlets can be 20A? Also, are there any 240V 20A GFCI outlets out there somewhere?

Thanks All.
 
  #2  
Old 08-22-04, 05:05 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
1) Don't know.
2) A 15-amp GFCI with 20-amp feed through means that downstream outlets may be 15-amp or 20-amp. Of course, the electrical code prohibits 20-amp receptacles on a 15-amp circuit, so you must abide by this too. GFCI on 20-amp 240-volt circuits are very rare. Most of the time it is provided by an in-line GFCI on the cord.
 
  #3  
Old 08-22-04, 06:56 PM
isuras2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by John Nelson
1) Don't know.
Of course, the electrical code prohibits 20-amp receptacles on a 15-amp circuit, so you must abide by this too.
So if I have a 20-amp circuit breaker in the panel wired to a 15-amp GFCI receptacle, then to (3) or (4) 20-amp receptacles, this would not violate the code?
 
  #4  
Old 08-22-04, 07:54 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,262
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It would not at all violate code but it is also not at all necessary either.
The only reason to use them is if you have appliances with 20 amp/120 volt configuration plugs (VERY uncommon). A larger a/c or shop tool may have this. Usually in this case the appliance is made for 220 volts. Residentially, 20 amp receptacles are almost never necessary.

Any Cutler/Hammer BR series or Square D Homeline breakers will fit your panel.

240 volt GFIs are typically for pool pumps, not much else. No, there is no 240 volt GFI receptacle, only breakers.
 
  #5  
Old 08-24-04, 10:43 AM
isuras2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
For one circuit, would (1) 15amp-120V GFCI outlet with (4) 20amp-120V outlets downstream work? or would the (4) outlets be pushing it for the GFCI outlet?
 
  #6  
Old 08-24-04, 10:47 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
There is no limit to the number of downstream recepticle outlets that a GFCI can protect.
 
  #7  
Old 08-24-04, 01:04 PM
isuras2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
Any Cutler/Hammer BR series or Square D Homeline breakers will fit your panel.
So for sure any of the above breakers (Cutler/Hammer BR series or Square D Homeline) will fit?
 
  #8  
Old 08-24-04, 01:36 PM
Homer Simpson
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Gfic

isuras2,

Challanger has consolidated. It is a Westinghouse style panel, so any
westinghouse type breaker will work. Murry, Semiens, Bryant, etc. Homeline
is Square D's answer to the competition. The code allows you to use a
15 amp recpt or switch on a 20 amp circuit. You can use the cheaper 15 amp
recpt unless you have an appliance whose plug is configured for only 20 amps.

Be sure, if installing a gfic recpt, to run the power (line) coming it to the box to the line terminal on the gfic and the wires going to the other recpt to the
load terminals on the gfic. I like Eagle brand gfic, they have a led (lite) on it that lights up when it is tripped. Gfics only protect the downstream recpt so
make it your first.

Tell us what you want to protect with a 240v 2 pole Gfic breaker? They
run from $60--$70. Say goodbye, Homer. Goodbye
 
  #9  
Old 08-24-04, 02:04 PM
isuras2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I think I will pass on getting a 240V breaker and doing the 240V wiring until I have something I need to power with it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: