Neutral on ground bus? Why? Permitted?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-23-04, 11:20 AM
simanco1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Neutral on ground bus? Why? Permitted?

Hello,

I have had the cover off my electrical panel to install a new circuit and noticed that both the neutral and grounding wires from my furnace is mounted to the ground bus. Is this ever permitted given the following:

Service is 200Amp and was installed in 1991
Ground bus is bonded to the panel chassis
Neutral bus is not bonded to the chassis or ground bus that I can find
The furnace run is 120V 20Amp used to power only the blower, humidifier and air cleaner.

It is the only neutral wire run the ground bus, which caused me to notice it in the first place.

Thank you for your help, it is appreciated,
Jim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-23-04, 11:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Is the neutral bus electrically connected to the ground bus?

At one location, and only one location, the neutral MUST be connected to the ground. This is usually at the main electrical panel.
 
  #3  
Old 08-23-04, 11:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Neutral bus is not bonded to the chassis or ground bus that I can find
It's the "that I can find" that is significant. It probably is. Do you see any green screw in the panel? Or maybe some sort of bonding strap? If this is the panel containing your main disconnect, it's almost certainly bonded. If you are still concerned, shut off your main breaker and do a continuity check between the neutral bar and the chassis.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'