Pleaseeee Helppppp

Old 09-03-04, 03:09 PM
rj1kender
Visiting Guest
Question Pleaseeee Helppppp

Hello and how are you whoever may be reading this. I am in the middle of swapping my kitchen and dinning room. I installed a new wall and walk-thru. I installed new switches on this new wall. I have 3 sets of 2 + ground at the switches. Both end have been marked the same. 1 set for power, 1 setfor dinning room light and fan, and 1 set for kitchen lights. The other ends are in the attic. There is a juction box with all the old lights attached there, with the power. I will disconnect the old lights and need help on installing the new wires for proper installation. I have some experience with electrical. I wired in a 220 volt oven the day before THANKSGIVING. The meter was unable to be turned off due to a power company's lock and there was no main shut off, so guess what? I wired in the oven while the box at the meter was hot. I guess I was lucky cause I am still alive( and the turkey came out delicious).
PLEASE HELP WITH INSTRUCTIONS TO FINISH.
THANKS and GOD BLESS
RJ. KENDER

Old 09-03-04, 04:46 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I'm not clear of the whole situation, but I'll give it a shot.

At the switch box:
  • All three white wires together with a wire nut. Push this into the back of the box.
  • All three grounding wires, plus two grounding pigtails, together in a wire nut.
  • One grounding pigtail to the green screw on one switch.
  • The other grounding pigtail to the green screw on the other switch.
  • Power cable black to two black pigtails with a wire nut.
  • One black pigtail to a brass screw on one switch.
  • The other black pigtail to a brass screw on the other switch.
  • Kitchen light black wire to remaining screw on one switch.
  • Dining light black wire to remaining screw on the other switch.
  • Repack the box extremely carefully, extremely carefully.