Different circuits in same box


  #1  
Old 09-05-04, 08:24 AM
TomZ1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 155
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Different circuits in same box

Hi:

Rewiring my camp.

I have a three-gang switch box that controls various overhead lights. Is it acceptable to have one or more of the three on different circuits?

 
  #2  
Old 09-05-04, 10:57 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Yes........
 
  #3  
Old 09-05-04, 11:04 AM
hornetd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 646
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Were is your camp located?

That yes is conditional on your camp being located in an area were the US NEC has been adopted as the local electrical code. If memory serves the Canadian code forbids that practice or requires a divider if the voltage between any two conductors in the box exceeds 150 volts.
--
Tom Horne
 
  #4  
Old 09-05-04, 11:12 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I know New Hampshire is pretty far up there, but last time I checked, it was still in the U.S.
 
  #5  
Old 09-05-04, 12:38 PM
hornetd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 646
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
This crow is not bad. Pass the salt.

Originally Posted by John Nelson
I know New Hampshire is pretty far up there, but last time I checked, it was still in the U.S.
OK. You got me. I missed the location in the header of his posting.
--
Tom H
 
  #6  
Old 09-07-04, 01:48 PM
TomZ1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 155
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yup.

Still in the USA.

Live Free or Die.

 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: