Main outside Breaker keeps tripping

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-06-04, 07:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Garden city mi
Posts: 48
Main outside Breaker keeps tripping

it would trip once a long while now has trip a few times just today, is it a inside problem, outside, just any idea's?? what could cause this
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-06-04, 07:10 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
For an outside breaker this is not that uncommon. Is the breaker real hot? Many times the bus gets corroded and with the heavy draw of a main breaker it compounds the problem. Also the connection may be on the loose side. This creats alot of resistance and heat which can trip the breaker without an overload.

PLEASE have a professional look at this ASAP. This is not a DIY situation and must be handled properly. The wires feeding the main are NOT fused and you can get real dead if you are not careful or are not sure of what you are doing!
 
  #3  
Old 09-06-04, 07:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Don't discount the possibility of a neighborhood trickster.
 
  #4  
Old 09-06-04, 07:26 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Smile

Is it Halloween already?
 
  #5  
Old 09-07-04, 02:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Garden city mi
Posts: 48
the outside breaker is warm at the moment. it tends to blow when the window ac and the stove is on at the same time
 

Last edited by Jman477359; 09-07-04 at 02:52 PM.
  #6  
Old 09-07-04, 04:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Garden city mi
Posts: 48
the bus seems to be rusted, could that be the problem?
 
  #7  
Old 09-07-04, 07:50 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,455
Like I said, this is very common with outdoor main breakers. I'll bet if the buss/lugs are rusted so is the breker & stab corroded.
I just last week had to replace a 100 amp service on a customer pole for the exact same reason.
Please get it looked at asap.
 
  #8  
Old 09-08-04, 01:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Garden city mi
Posts: 48
hey thanx alot for your help, i'll post back been problem is solved
 
  #9  
Old 09-14-04, 05:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Garden city mi
Posts: 48
Hey Thanx guys, I poped the meter off and tighten the screws, on the one wired between the meter and the breaker was red hot, which was causeing the breaker to trip, the screws were really loose, i tighten them up popped the meter back on and no problems, the wire is as cool as can be, thanx again for the help i can now sleep again =)
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes