Aluminum wiring, breaker box


  #1  
Old 09-15-04, 02:48 PM
Tylerec
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Aluminum wiring, breaker box

My house has aluminum wiring. I would like to replace the breaker box. I do not plan on replacing the wiring. There is no main breaker in the box. I plan on doing some remodeling that will require additional breakers.
Can this be done?
Does the box have to be replaced by an electrician?
How much can I expect to pay?
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 09-15-04, 03:07 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Is the only reason you're replacing the box is because you need more space? If so, a subpanel is a cheaper option.

Normally, replacing a panel is not a DIY job. Expect to pay $750 to $2000.
 
  #3  
Old 09-16-04, 09:10 AM
dougm's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Colony, Texas
Posts: 852
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Tylerec, One more question: Is there a brand name on that breaker box?

Doug M.
 
  #4  
Old 09-25-04, 07:36 PM
Tylerec
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The brand on the box is Underwriters Laboratories Inc.

An inspector told me that this box is not up to code due to double wiring, no main breaker, ect.
 
  #5  
Old 09-25-04, 08:46 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Underwriters Laboratories is a testing agency. It doesn't make anything. Look for another name, such as Square D, Siemens, General Electric, Federal Pacific, Homeline, Cutler-Hammer, Westinghouse, Challenger, Murray, Crouse-Hinds, Pushmatic, Wadsworth, Zinsco, Bryant, ITE, General Switch, UBI, or Montgomery Ward.
 
  #6  
Old 09-26-04, 05:20 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,050
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
If there is no main breaker in this box then there should be one in another box somewhere. If there is, then you can completely turn off this box and it would be safe to work in.
 
  #7  
Old 09-26-04, 05:39 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,985
Received 198 Upvotes on 173 Posts
Joed,

This was known as a split buss panel. The top portion was hot all the time from the meter. The only way to kill the power was to remove the meter. It typically had all the 240 volt loads and a 2P feed for the bottom buss on the panel. The bottom buss was for the 120 loads.
 
  #8  
Old 09-26-04, 05:55 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,050
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
It could be a split bus panel but the poster never gave any indaction of this. He only said there is no main breaker in the box. It could still be elsewhere like at the meter.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: