Multi-wire circuits for basement shop

Old 09-17-04, 03:40 PM
mrliefy
Visiting Guest
Multi-wire circuits for basement shop

Before I state my questions, let me first say how impressed I am with this site. I'm sure glad I stumbled upon it. I am running two 20 amp circuits into my basement workshop. I plan to have have four separate outlet locations. At each location, I'll have two duplex receptacles, one for each circuit. I had originally planned to connect the feed-in to the neutral screw of one receptacle, connect the feed-out to the neutral screw of the other receptacle, and connect the remaining neutral screws on each receptacle together with a short piece of white 12 AWG wire. I'm an electrical engineer and I looked at all kinds of phase angle differences between the loads in each receptacle and convinced myself that this should be okay from a current-carrying point of view. However, I got the sense that it would not conform to Code when I read a note in the Black and Decker "The Complete Guide to Home Wiring" that neutrals had to be pigtailed and not routed through the receptacles. After wading through many of the posts on this site, I 've learned that the reason for this is that the failure of a device in the circuit should not cause an interruption in the neutral path. I look at the side of a receptacle and wonder how on earth that solid metal bridge between the screws could fail without openning a breaker. Personally, I would be much more dubious of reliably joining four 12 AWG wires (Feed-in, Feed-out, and pigtails to each receptacle) and the extra congestion it will cause, even in a large workbox. Wire nuts will always concern me, particularly those that claim you do not have to twist the wires together first. But I will use the pigtails, if that is what the code requires. Is there any other problem with having outlets from two different branch circuits in the same box (assuming it is sized properly for the number of wires)?