Novice Needs Advice

Old 09-19-04, 04:27 AM
jburd641
Visiting Guest
Novice Needs Advice

I live in a house that is in serious need of some minor (and I'm afraid, major) electrical work. I was wondering how difficult it is to change outlets and dimmer switches. I don't know any technical terms for the outlets. I just know they are everyday house outlets in a 22 year old house. Some of the dimmers have ceiling fans and lights in the same boxes or have multiple dimmers. I am planning on buying a book on electrical work around the home and would like some suggestions on which one would be the best for a total novice. I would also like some suggestions on what tools I will need for these minor repairs.

Old 09-19-04, 07:55 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
If you are careful, changing switches and receptacles is pretty easy. There are a few things to make sure you know:
  1. Record the connections before you move them, and carefully reproduce them on the new device. Disconnect and move only one (or a small number) wire at a time.
  2. Replace single-pole switches with single-pole switches, 3-ways with 3-ways, and 4-ways with 4-ways.
  3. Be aware that screw position means very little. The "lower left" screw on the old switch may not match the purpose of the "lower left" screw on a new switch. You must examine the old and new switches closely and identify "input" and "output", "line" and "load", or "common" before beginning.
  4. Do not use the backstab connectors on your new receptacles and switches, even if they were used on the old ones. The backstab and the adjacent screw are electrically equivalent. If there are already wires on both, you'll need a new wire nut and pigtail wire.
  5. Pay close attention to the tabs on receptacles. Break out the tabs on the new receptacle to exactly match the tabs on the old receptacle.