Hot Tub GFCI Question

Old 09-19-04, 05:47 PM
Paul_OS
Visiting Guest
Hot Tub GFCI Question

Getting prepared for the delivery of the new Hot Tub in about a week. The Tub will sit about 5 feet away from the detached garage, (garage is about 60' from the main house). I wired underground and installed a 100amp subpanel in the garage to feed the Tub and some shop tools. Every thing is by the book. I'm not an electrician but I do work for an electrical contractor. I ran everything by the guys at work and they double checked all the codes for me. I plan on having one of them drop by and check all my work before powering up.

Here's the question. I installed a Weatherproof 240V/60A GFCI on the outside of the garage next to the tub (5' away by code). Per the spec sheet that came with this GFCI which is made for Hot Tubs , I ran (3) #6 Red, Blk, Wht and (1) #8 Green/Ground. The unit has a 2 Pole breaker and has a Neutral Pigtail already prewired for the GFCI. You basically just bring in all 4 conductors in to the line side and hook them up, pretty easy.

It then states that you come out of each pole of the breaker (2) and also come out of the bottom of one of the breaker poles with the load (Tub) neutral. They give you a screw terminal on one of the breakers for this connection. Also you bring out your ground too. So 4 wires in and 4 wires out to the Tub. Again pretty straight forward.

Here is where it gets tricky. I downloaded the preinstallation manual for the Tub to make sure everythiing was correct and ready. They make about 10 different models. I found the hook-up diagram for the Tub I bought and it cearly shows the interconnection from a GFCI to my Tub. However, my Tub only takes (3) conductors not (4). They show the (2) hots and the ground only to the Tub, no neutral. Some of their other models take all (4), but not this and 2 other models.

It all seems very strange, and of all things, I'm not messing with a grounding issue related to water I plan to sit in.