Recessing the service panel...

Old 09-21-04, 11:17 AM
Savant
Visiting Guest
Recessing the service panel...

Hi folks,

I used to work in the electrical trade (commercial/maintenance) but carpentry isn't my stroing suit. I'm relocating a service panel (combined loadcenter) and I want to recess it inside a wall in the basement. I have no problem with the actual electrical work, (I could wire up a 3 phase/4 wire panel with one hand tied behind my back) but I'm trying to figure out what the best way would be to mount the panel and stud the wall so I can recess it nicely.

Here are the details...

I need to relocate the panel, not by much, but about 4 feet from where it is now. I plan on running a 90degree pipe from an LB on the outside wall, and then have a straight run to the loadcenter about 4 feet down the wall. (I can't run the mains outside and then in since the gas meter happens to be on the other side of the wall at that point, and code requires 3' of clearance between the vent on the meter and any electrical installation.) I would have liked to put an LB on the inside, but since it needs to stay accessible I'll do some extra chiseling to get the 90 degree bend to fit instead. The panel is being mounted on the wall with a window to the immediate right, and all the branch circuts come in from above/right in the ceiling through the joists above the window.

Now I can mount the panel on some 3/4" pressure treated plywood that I can secure to the concrete blocks, but what I'm trying to decide is how I can stud this wall and still allow for the pipe run AND allow for the branch circuts to run down past the disconnect part of the loadcenter and into the enclosure. (since code doesn't allow transiting through the disconnect to reach the loadcenter)